AERE honors the outstanding contributions to the field of environmental and resource economics with four annual awards.  We invite you to learn more about each award, as well as current and past reciepients below.

AERE Fellows

In 2005, the AERE Fellows program was instituted to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the profession of environmental and resource economics.  Nominate someone for AERE Fellow >>

2017 AERE Fellows

Partha Dasgupta            Albert McGartland

     Sir Partha Dasgupta               Dr. Albert McGartland

 Full Listing of AERE Fellows >>


Publication of Enduring Quality

Each year since 1989, AERE has recognized works that are of seminal nature and with enduring value in environmental and resource economics. Place and type of publication are unrestricted for the AERE Publication of Enduring Quality (PEQ) award.  Nomination Instructions >>

2017 PEQ Award

Richard G. Newell, Adam B. Jaffe, and Robert N. Stavins.  "The Induced Innovation Hypothesis and Energy-Saving Technological Change," Quarterly Journal of Economics, Vol. 114, No. 3 (1999), pp. 941-975.

Richard NewellAdam JaffeRobert Stavins  


David Popp. "Induced Innovation and Energy Prices," American Economic Review, Vol. 92, No. 1 (2002), pp. 160-180.

 David Popp

 Click here for a list of previous winners.


The Ralph C. d’Arge and Allen V. Kneese Award for Outstanding Publication in the Journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists

Each year, AERE selects an outstanding research paper published in the Journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists during the calendar year.

  2016 Outstanding Publication in JAERE

Mary Evans


Mary F. Evans, "The Clean Air Act Watch List: An Enforcement and Compliance Natural Experiment" Journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists, volume 3, number 3, pp. 627-65, 2016.



Click here for a list of previous winners.


Wallace E. Oates Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

The Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award was initiated in 2013 and first awarded in 2014.  Nominated dissertations are judged by a panel of AERE members who emphasize in their deliberations the originality of the research, quality of implementation, expositional clarity, and intellectual and practical significance of research findings.  Donate to the Oates Fund that supports this award, or nominate a student for the award.

  2015 Outstanding Dissertation Award (awarded January 2017)

Casey Wichman,
Information and Environmental Policy 
University of Maryland, College Park, 2015.

The dissertation abstract will be published in
the Journal of the Association of Environmental
and Resource Economists
 (JAERE) in 2017.

 Click here for a list of previous winners.


Special Awards

Distinguished Service Award

2007:  Marilyn M. Voigt was given special recognition for her 20 years of dedicated service to AERE—first as Executive Secretary and now as Executive Director. Her contributions to AERE have been innumerable during this time, and her depth of knowledge regarding AERE's organizational structure continues to provide the backbone for all of AERE's activities and functions.

2006 Petry Prize for the Economics of Climate Change

Richard Newell and William Pizer for their paper “Discounting the Distant Future: How Much Do Uncertain Rates Increase Valuations?” published in the Journal of Environmental Economics and Management in July 2003.