AERE Fellows Nomination Instructions

In 2005, the AERE Fellows program was instituted to recognize outstanding contributions to the advancement of the profession of environmental and resource economics.  A complete list of Fellows may found here

Criteria for selection:  Awardees will have demonstrated a significant contribution to the advancement of the profession of environmental and resource economics. A candidate must be living at the time of nomination; membership in AERE is not required.

Nomination Process: Any member of AERE may nominate a candidate for Fellow. A nomination packet should include a vita of the nominee, a two-page nomination letter, and at least one additional letter of support from a second individual. Nomination letters should outline contributions the individual has made to warrant the award. Potential contributions include advances to the knowledge base in environmental and resource economics, a record of policy-advising activity, a record of mentorship and cultivation of new human capital, increasing visibility of the field, and service to the AERE community. In addition, members of the AERE Board of Directors may consider candidates that have not been otherwise nominated that they feel are especially worthy.

Selection Process: Nomination packages are to be submitted via email to [email protected] by December 1 each calendar year to be considered for the following year's award. Receipt of nomination packages will be confirmed via email. The president will distribute copies to each of the Board members who will select newly appointed Fellows from the set of nominations. 

Awards Ceremony:  The AERE Fellows awards ceremony takes place at the AERE Summer Conference, usually held in early June.  Newly elected fellows will be notified in advance to provide ample time to make travel arrangements to attend the Awards Program.  Every fourth year, AERE co-hosts the World Congress of Environmental and Resource Economists, usually in late-June.  In World Congress years, the Fellows Award Program will take place at the World Congress.

Maximum Number of Awards: Three per year

Questions? Email [email protected]