At AERE, we understand the importance of volunteers.Volunteers are AERE's most precious resource, lending their time and expertise to help the association, and the profession, advance. AERE has volunteer opportunities to suit every interest and availability level, including service on the Board of Directors. As we look forward to future initiatives, we hope you will consider being part of our volunteer community. Volunteer applications are accepted between November 1 and March 31 each year.


Nominating Committee

Responsible for assembling a slate of candidates to stand for election as Officers and Board Members and for filling open committee slots

Committee on Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Responsible for fostering equity, diversity, and inclusion in AERE-organized professional activities and duties

Graduate Student Engagement Committee

AERE Scholars Program Committee

  • Chair: Jill Caviglia-Harris, Salisbury University
  • Sheila OlmsteadUniversity of Texas at Austin and Resources for the Future, expires 6/30/2024
  • Benjamin A. Jones, University of New Mexico, expires 6/30/2025
  • Jacqueline Doremus, Cal Poly, expires 6/30/2025
  • Hannah Hennighausen, University of Alaska Anchorage, expires 6/30/2026
  • TBD, expires 6/30/2026

Advisory Board

Oates Dissertation Award Committee

Responsible for selecting the winner of the Oates Dissertation Award annually

Publication of Enduring Quality (PEQ) Award Committee

Responsible for selecting the winner of the PEQ Award annually

Best JAERE Paper Award Committee

Responsible for selecting the winner of the Best JAERE Award annually

  • JAERE Co-Editors: Nick Kuminoff, Arizona State University, and Teevrat GargUniversity of California, San Diego, expire 6/30/2025
  • AERE member: Laura Bakkensen, University of Arizona, expires 6/30/2027

AERE@AAEA Program Committee

AERE@ASSA Program Committee

  • Chair: Todd Gerarden, Cornell University, expires 12/31/2025
  • Tihitina Andarge, University of Massachusetts Amherst, expires 12/31/2026
  • Ishan Nath, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco, expires 12/31/2027

AERE Sessions at Regional Meetings


Advisory Committee for 2025 AERE Summer Conference

Responsible for advising the AERE Summer Conference Organizing Committee

Organizing Committee for 2025 AERE Summer Conference

Responsible for organizing the AERE Summer Conference

  • University of New Mexico Economics Department

World Council of Environmental and Resource Economists Associations (WCEREA) Representatives